Sampology Bio

Brisbane based producer, Worldwide FM radio host, member of Middle Name Dance Band, and label head for Middle Name Records. 

With an impressive career spanning over a decade, Sampology followed on from his internationally praised 2016 EP Natural Selections with 'Mt Glorious'. Launching his own Middle Name Records imprint, Sampology released the six-track Mt Glorious EP in August 2018. Picking up where Natural Selections left off, the relentlessly innovative Brisbane native has continued to evolve as an artist and performer, with Mt Glorious featuring renowned special guests Georgia Ann Muldrow, Dudley Perkins and Jordan Rakei. 


But the real highlight of the stunning Mt Glorious EP lies within the production, with Sampology peeling back the layers of his musical palette and influences. Delving deeper into the broken beat & percussive house rhythms he is known for, Sampology masterfully incorporated live and sampled instrumentation, string arrangements and drum-machine driven beats with unmistakable jazz undertones. The result is a vibrant and colourful body of work that draws from nostalgic textures and ambient, Balearic influences. First up was the stunning title track Mt Glorious, which garnered support from Seven Davis Jnr, LeFto, Ben Westbeech and CC Disco. The EP’s second single was the soulful mid tempo number Smile, which found a regular home on Gilles Peterson’s BBC Radio 6 playlist.


Middle Name Dance Tracks Vol 1 is the second release from Sampology’s new imprint. The Middle Name Dance Tracks project reflects standout live & club nights in Sampology’s home town of Brisbane, where the last two years has seen a steady cross pollination between the club and soul/jazz communities. The blurred line between these two musical worlds has delivered an array of diverse and joyful events for both artists and avid music fans.


Rather than starting a new band, Sampology collaborated with Sam Stosuur and Megan Christensen on the Middle Name Dance Tracks project. The recording process was live in nature with Megan on piano and keys, Sam Stosuur on bass/bass synth and Sampology on MPC drums and programming.  Having live conga & timbale from Brisbane based Latin percussion staple Gus Cereiji glues the groove together. These sonic choices were inspired by listening to NYC early 80s disco labels, especially Prelude 12" releases, which balanced drum machine & synths as well as live studio musicians. Vocals on 'Only Joy' were recorded from fellow member of Pink Matter Kerry Raywood. Vocals for 'Bless' come from Brisbane jazz vocalist Merinda Dias-Jayasinha. The combination of the Middle Name Dance Tracks trio and the additional Brisbane artists offers a specific music palette that’s live in essence, dancefloor in orientation, and magical in delivery.


Middle Name Records Dance Tracks Vol 1. artwork was created by artist Sue Poggioli, Sampology’s mother who also created the artwork for the 2016 Natural Selections EP. Released on Friday October 12, there is a limited edition vinyl run featuring hand printed three-way colour artwork; and two limited edition 12"x12" artist proof hand prints available exclusively via Bandcamp.


Middle Name Dance Tracks Vol 1. continues Sampology’s evolution as a remarkable artist and purveyor of new music and emerging local talent. 



Jane Slingo


Matt Thomson
Sam(Pology) himself



  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Spotify Icon
  • Black SoundCloud Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon